Directorate of Municipal Administration was established in 1984 to regulate administrative, developmental and financial affairs of all the local bodies in the state of Karnataka. Cardinal duties of Directorate includes collecting the information related to local bodies and sending it to Government

• According to the prevailing authority under Karnataka Municipals Act 1964, 10 Corporations, 59 City Municipal Councils, 116 Town Municipal Councils, 94 Town Panchayats and 4 Notified Area Committees comes under the jurisdiction of Directorate of Municipal Administration. All these local bodies are regulated through Project Director, District Urban Development Cell, which work under the jurisdiction of DC.

• Administrative matters like Direct Recruitment, Promotion, Enquiry, Probationary Period declaration, Time bound promotions, declaration of Waiting Period of Group-B cadre employees and Direct Recruitment, Enquiry and declaration of Waiting Period of Group-C cadre employees and promotion to the post of Revenue Officer, Office Manager and Senior Health Inspector cadres are looked after.

• Issuing Circulars, submitting proposals regarding Rules/Provisions, Rules and acts amendments, publication of Notifications, upgradation of Urban Local Bodies according to the population and other administrative duties are performed in administrative interest.

Source: DMA, GoK.