Directorate of Municipal Administration in Karnataka is established under Section 388 of the Karnataka Municipalities Act, 1964. Presently, the directorate is headed by a Commissioner. Directorate of Municipal Administration who while discharging the statutory functions delegated under the Karnataka Municipalities Act, 1964 and some functions delegated under the Karnataka Municipal Corporations Act is vest with powers regard to the supervision and control of Municipal Corporations other than Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike, City Municipal Councils, Town Municipal Councils, Town Panchayats and Notified Area Committees earlier constituted under the Act.

         The Deputy Commissioners of the Districts have overall supervision and control of the urban local bodies coming under the district.  The Deputy Commissioners are assisted by the District Urban Development Cell in the District.  Project Directors are appointed for heading the District Urban Development Cells in the state.

         The history of urban local self-governing bodies in Karnataka State dates back to more than a century. These local bodies are again classified into various categories like Corporations, Cities, Town Municipalities and Town Panchayats depending upon the population. The Municipal bodies are now governed by the provisions contained in Karnataka Municipalities Act, 1964 for Urban Local Bodies.

         A State level Karnataka Municipal Data Center(KMDS) is established within the Municipal Reforms Cell(MRC) and a centralized database of all the ULBs are being maintained from it. The entire process of rolling out of Muncipal Applications of ULBs is handled by the IT professionals of Muncipal Reforms Cell, duly appointed by the Department. Also, it handles the implementation of computerization reforms projects, maintenance, capacity building and training to Municipal Staff'.